The last bear species still inhabiting the United States

A variety of bear species live in the States, let's find out what they are

by Lorenzo Ciotti
The last bear species still inhabiting the United States
© Getty Images / Handout

The United States of America is fortunate to have a variety of bear species inhabiting its territory. The fascinating animals attract the attention of people from all over the world and it is important to learn more about the different species found in the country.

The American black bear (Ursus americanus) is the most common bear species in the United States. These bears are known for their distinctive black color, although they can range from light brown to bluish black. They are quite large and can reach a weight of over 200 kg.

They are found primarily in the forests and mountainous regions of North America. The black bear is omnivorous, meaning it feeds on fruits, nuts, grasses, insects, fish, and small mammals. The grizzly bear (Ursus arctos horribilis) is known for its great strength and robustness.

This large bear can weigh between 180 and 800 kg. It has a brown coat with silver hair on its back and shoulders. It is found primarily in the mountainous region of the western United States, such as in Alaska, Montana, Wyoming, and Idaho.

The grizzly bear is famous for its ability to hunt large mammals such as moose and deer, but it also eats fish, insects and plants.

The last bear species still inhabiting the United States

The polar bear (Ursus maritimus) is one of the most iconic mammals in the world.

Although they are most common in the Arctic regions of Canada and Alaska, small numbers of polar bears are also seen as far north as Alaska. These bears are adapted to life on sea ice and feed mainly on seals. The polar bear is known for its large white coat, which helps it blend into its surroundings.

The kodiak bear (Ursus arctos middendorffi) is considered the largest subspecies of the brown bear. It lives only in the Kodiak Islands in southern Alaska and is famous for its impressive size. These bears can reach a weight of over 600 kg and are known for their strength and aggression.

Although they are primarily carnivorous, they also feed on plants, berries, and fish. The Yukon River polar bear (Ursus maritimus gyas) is a subspecies of the polar bear. It lives along the Yukon River valley in northwestern Alaska.

These bears are unique because they have a more varied diet than other polar bears. While their main food is whale carcasses, they also feed on salmon, fish and seal eggs. In conclusion, the United States of America is home to a wide range of bear species, each of which has its own specific characteristics and habitats.

It is important to protect these magnificent animals through conservation of the ecosystems in which they live and education on best practices for coexisting peacefully with them.